Call for Papers

https://icpmg2022.org

10th International Conference on Physical Modelling in Geotechnics 20222 KAIST, Daejeon, Korea / 19-23 September, 2022

Important Dates

Abstract Submission Opening	20 June 2021
Abstract Submission Deadline	15 August 2021
Abstract Acceptance Notification	
Manuscript Submission Deadline	
Manuscript Acceptance Notification	
Final Manuscript Submission	
Pre-registration Opening	
Registration Opening	an a

Introduction

The Korean Geotechnical Society (KGS) is pleased to announce that the 10th International Conference on Physical Modelling in Geotechnics (ICPMG 2022) will be held at KAIST, Daejeon, Korea, 19-23 September 2022 under the auspices of Technical Committee 104 (TC104 Physical Modelling in Geotechnics) of the International Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering (ISSMGE). The Local Organizing Committee of ICPMG 2022 calls for abstracts and the submission system by its website will be ready by the end of June 2021.

Since the first international conference in 1988 in Paris, it has been the greatest gathering for the physical modelling community to exchange, discuss and share their knowledge and experiences among the distinguished academics, researchers, engineers, and the next generation. We hope ICPMG 2022 becomes a successful event that inherits the tradition and heritage of the previous events.

Conference Topics

Papers containing original works in all aspects of Physical Modelling in Geotechnics. Topics included, but are not limited to, the followings;

- Physical modelling facilities and equipment
- · Scaling principles and modelling techniques
- · Sample preparation and characterisation
- Instrumentations and measurements
- · Physical/Numerical interface and comparisons
- Soft ground and improvements
- Offshore geotechnics
- · Earthquake related problems

- · Geohazards
- · Underground structures and pipelines
- · Excavations and retaining structures
- Foundations
- Dams and embankments
- Education
- Applications in engineering practice
- Others



Hosting City 'Daejeon'



Daejeon is located in the heart of Korea, allowing visitors to visit major cities in Korea within two hours. Daejeon has the best and largest research personnel and research institute including KAIST in Korea. Daejeon also has major tourist attractions such as the Expo Park, Daedeok Science Town, Agua World, and the O World Theme Park which houses a zoo and a large variety of fun rides. The mild temperatures, low rainfall, and natural beauty make September the best time of year to visit South Korea.

Incheon Airport	Seoul Daejeon baegu Gwangju Busan	•
	Gwangju Busan	

Venue 'KAIST'

KAIST is the first and top research oriented science and technology university in Korea. Since the establishment of the Geotechnical Centrifuge Testing Center in 2008, it has been one of the most productive centrifuge facilities in the world and contributed to advances in physical modelling related research in Korea. The ICPMG main events will be held in KAIST Munji Campus, a beautiful and pleasant for gathering, and some of social events as well as the centrifuge facility technical tour will be prepared in KAIST main campus.



Local Organizing Committee

Conference Chair

• Moonkyung CHUNG (KICT, President of KGS)

Vice Chairs

- Gye-Chun CHO (KAIST)
- Jong-Sub LEE (Korea University)

General Secretary

• Nam-Ryong KIM (K-water, TC104 Acting Chair)

Committee Members

- Yun-Wook CHOO (Kongju National University)
- Young-Hoon JUNG (Kyung Hee University)
- Jae-Hyun KIM (Kangwon National University)
- Sung-Ryul KIM (Seoul National University)
- Tae-Sik KIM (Hongik University)
- Young-Uk KIM (Myongji University)
- Yun-Tae KIM (Pukyong National University)
- Tae-Hyuk KWON (KAIST)
- Jin-Sun LEE (Wonkwang University)
- Heon-Joon PARK (Seoul Nat'l Univ. of Science & Technology)
- Won-Seok SEO (GS E&C)
- Tae-Sup YUN (Yonsei University)



International Advisory Committee

- Jonathan BLACK (UK)
- Miguel Angel CABRERA (Colombia)
- Siau Chen CHIAN (Singapore)
- Christophe GAUDIN (Australia)
- SW JACOBSZ (South Africa)
- Jonathan KNAPPETT (UK)
- Jan LAUE (Sweden)
- Cheol-Ju LEE (Korea)
- Seung-Rae LEE (Korea)
- Chun Fai LEUNG (Singapore)
- Xianfeng MA (China)
- Andrew MCNAMARA (UK)
- Seong-Wan PARK (Korea)
- Ryan PHILLIPS (Canada)
- Andy TAKE (Canada)
- Tetsuo TOBITA (Japan)
- Cristina TSUHA (Brazil)
- B.V.S. VISWANADHAM (India)
- David WHITE (UK, TC104 Vice Chair)
- Daniel WILSON (US)



